#UFchat – chat for urban fantasy writers

How People Discovered UF & What Its Roots Are – July 31st

Once again, not sure what’s up with the times shown but we started at 3pm PST/ 6pm EST.

Enjoy!

EDIT NOTE (Monday 12:17am PST): Late tweets just added to end of transcript. πŸ™‚

9:57 pm inkgypsy: Getting my #UFchat boots on…
10:00 pm UF_Chat: #UFchat is live! Welcome ? say hi, join in, tell us how you discovered UF! #UFchat
10:00 pm CameronHaleyUF: taptaptap…is this thing on? #UFchat
10:01 pm wildbloom: Hellllooooo. #ufchat
10:01 pm UF_Chat: @CameronHaleyUF We are here! I think some people are still putting their boots on. πŸ˜‰ #UFchat
10:01 pm tadbo: RT @wildbloom: RT @UF_Chat: #UFchat is live! Welcome ? say hi, join in, tell us how you discovered UF! #UFchat
10:02 pm amandabonilla: Hi everyone! #ufchat
10:02 pm UF_Chat: @wildbloom Great to see you today! (How’s them boots?) #UFchat
10:02 pm tadbo: Lurking, as per usual. Hey all. #ufchat
10:02 pm UF_Chat: @tadbo Hi! Thanks for RT-ing! #UFchat
10:02 pm Jinxie_G: RT @inkgypsy: #UFchat is live! Welcome ? say hi, join in, tell us how you discovered UF! (We’re using Tweetchat & #UFchat hashtag)
10:02 pm wildbloom: @UF_Chat You too! Boots are excelllent. πŸ™‚ #ufchat
10:03 pm Jinxie_G: @wulfshado Just join the chat, it’ll be fun! #UFChat
10:03 pm UF_Chat: Soo… how did you guys discover UF as a ‘genre’? Was it a book? An author? A film? Buffy? Paranormal Romance? Horror? #UFchat
10:03 pm CameronHaleyUF: I read de Lint, Bull, Windling, etc., in the 80s…got into “modern” UF with Jim Butcher. #UFchat
10:04 pm PizaSeven: RT @inkgypsy: #UFchat is live! Welcome ? say hi, join in, tell us how you discovered UF! (We’re using Tweetchat & #UFchat hashtag)
10:04 pm Ben_Aaronovitch: #UFchat Entry point into UF was Dresden Files.
10:04 pm wildbloom: I’d have to say I found UF via paranormal means. #ufchat
10:05 pm UF_Chat: For me, I was interested in fairy tale retellings – partic. Red Riding & werewolves. Discovered K. Armstrong, J. Butcher + The Crow. #UFchat
10:05 pm amandabonilla: I read across the spectrum but I think Anne Rice really intro’d me to UF. It just sort of snowballed from there #ufchat
10:05 pm UF_Chat: @Ben_Aaronovitch Which book did you read first? #UFchat
10:05 pm UF_Chat: @wildbloom How via paranormal? A book? Show? #UFchat
10:05 pm Jinxie_G: I think I found UF by way of horror. Can’t quite recall. #UFChat
10:05 pm HC_Palmquist: @UF_Chat I discovered it through @cjredwine‘s Shadowing Fate. I then realized I was writing a UF story myself. LOL #ufchat
10:05 pm UF_Chat: @amandabonilla So vampires-beyond-the-monster were a good intro to UF for you? #UFchat
10:06 pm UF_Chat: @HC_Palmquist What did her story have in it that made it UF? #UFchat
10:06 pm PizaSeven: RT @Jinxie_G: I think I found UF by way of horror. Can’t quite recall. #UFChat <–wow lol
10:06 pm editorialdept: Like @wildbloom I came to UF via paranormals. Laurell K Hamilton, Kim Harrison, etc. Have been writing UF since before then, though. #ufchat
10:07 pm UF_Chat: @CameronHaleyUF I read DeLint too but didn’t twig to UF overall till Armstrong & Butcher really. Buffy helped I think. #UFchat
10:07 pm amandabonilla: @UF_Chat Definitely! I think UF has a tendency to explore the darker side of personalities in a fascinating way #ufchat
10:07 pm Jinxie_G: @PizaSeven I know, so nondescript. lol #UFChat
10:07 pm UF_Chat: @PizaSeven My entry was more horror than not too. UF definitely has horror roots but doesn’t require it anymore. #UFchat
10:07 pm wulfshado: #UFchat I discovered it with the old tv series Dark Shadows when I was around seven or eight, I think.
10:08 pm UF_Chat: @wildbloom Agree Koontz! Absolutely – though he’s less on the urban side (less city/metro focused) than is usual for UF. #UFchat
10:08 pm UF_Chat: @wulfshado Are they out on DVD now? I thought I saw Dark Shadows being advertised recently. #UFchat
10:08 pm CameronHaleyUF: Also, 1986 was a very good year…in film: Highlander and Big Trouble in Little China. πŸ™‚ #UFchat
10:09 pm UF_Chat: @Kalayna Forever Night is sitting on my DVD shelf! Don’t know why more people don’t know about that one. #UFchat
10:09 pm editorialdept: Actually, now that I think about it, my intro to UF was TV shows more than books. Highlander, then later Buffy and similar #ufchat
10:09 pm Jinxie_G: Right now, Patricia Briggs has my full attention with the Mercy Thompson series, but I’m also reading @jsmithready‘s WVMP series. #UFChat
10:09 pm Ben_Aaronovitch: #UFchat Come to think of it – do the original Anne Rice Vampire books count?
10:10 pm amandabonilla: I tend to think of UF in the terms of the here and now vs. a city setting #ufchat
10:10 pm UF_Chat: @CameronHaleyUF Highlander – of course! maybe that’s where swords got so popular.. certainly inspired me to fence & write battles 2. #UFchat
10:10 pm editorialdept: @UF_Chat re: Forever Knight – it got eclipsed by Buffy. Thank goodness for DVD – now people can catch up on what they missed. #ufchat
10:10 pm AuthorWilliam: Checking into #UFchat. What’s the topic today?
10:10 pm wulfshado: #UFchat I have the Forever Knight series on VCR rofl. Must update some day.
10:10 pm UF_Chat: @Ben_Aaronovitch Two sides on that one I think (Anne Rice books counting) I’d say yes due to influence – not typical anymore tho. #UFchat
10:10 pm wildbloom: @AuthorWilliam Hi William! #ufchat
10:11 pm amandabonilla: @UF_Chat LOVE Highlander! I have to say it influenced my sword-weilding MC as well! #ufchat
10:11 pm UF_Chat: @AuthorWilliam How did you discover the UF genre – via PR? Horror? A TV show? DeLint? + ingredients in the UF soup. πŸ™‚ #UFchat
10:11 pm AuthorWilliam: @wildbloom Hi there, AuthorDanielle, how are you? #UFchat
10:12 pm wulfshado: #UFchat So horror is a sub-genre of UF? Or is horror something else?
10:12 pm wildbloom: @AuthorWilliam lol! I’m fantastic, you? The topic so far is.. what introduced you into urban fantasy? #ufchat
10:12 pm HillaryJacques: Hello! Yes on Buffy. Then, in literature, I really got hooked by Lilith’s Saintcrow’s Dante Valentine series. #UFchat
10:12 pm Ben_Aaronovitch: If Big Trouble is in then I suppose Rentaghost and GHostbusters must be in too #UFchat
10:12 pm UF_Chat: @HC_Palmquist @amandabonilla Think city part is pretty important for UF. DeLint’s stuff he calls ModernMythic instead of UF for eg #UFchat
10:12 pm Jinxie_G: RT @CameronHaleyUF: @Ben_Aaronovitch I think Anne Rice was the beg. of the crossover from horror into UF. Thats one tradition in UF. #UFChat
10:13 pm CameronHaleyUF: @wulfshado I think horror is its own genre…but Anne Rice’s work isn’t traditional horror, and it started to cross over. #UFchat
10:13 pm amandabonilla: @wulfshado I’ve seen horror mingled in with fantasy and vice versa in many bookstores #ufchat
10:13 pm Jinxie_G: @wulfshado No, the other way around. UF is a sub-genre of horror. #UFChat
10:13 pm wildbloom: @wulfshado That’s a great question. #ufchat
10:13 pm jsmithready: My 1st UF was THE TALISMAN by Stephen King/Peter Straub. I think it predates de Lint & Bull. Heroic quest, werewolf sidekick, music! #UFchat
10:13 pm UF_Chat: @wulfshado UF has some of roots in horror-many supernatural creatures are traditionally horror monsters. UF looks @ them differently #UFchat
10:13 pm HC_Palmquist: @UF_Chat I didn’t know that. Hmm…may have to reconsider some of the settings for Watchers. #ufchat
10:14 pm shadowflame1974: My first UF encounter was Lackey’s Diane Trigarde books. #UFchat
10:14 pm Ben_Aaronovitch: @CameronHaleyUF I certainly never thought of it as horror, unless ennui is your greatest fear. #UFchat
10:14 pm AuthorWilliam: @UF_Chat Tough question. Hmm… I feel like there is UF in so many F stories. “Underworld” strikes me as a significant example of UF #UFchat
10:14 pm amandabonilla: @UF_Chat My current series is definitely urban (Seattle) but I do have a second small-town series started that fits as well #ufchat
10:14 pm UF_Chat: @Jinxie_G That genre/sub-genre thing is hard to define isn’t it. Horror roots in UF but it’s not really a horror sub-genre, esp now. #UFchat
10:14 pm Sayuri_x: @jsmithready I completely remember reading that. Staying up all night to get through it. Makes me want to re-read. #UFchat
10:15 pm UF_Chat: @AuthorWilliam Definitely Underworld – yes. How did you become aware of it? #UFchat
10:15 pm amandabonilla: I think the best part of UF is taking these traditionally “Scary” creatures and putting a new spin on them #ufchat
10:15 pm MarieIvarsson: Hi everyone! I’m here too, maybe lurking a bit. I’ll try to keep up. πŸ˜€ #UFChat
10:15 pm CameronHaleyUF: @UF_Chat This is the strength of that hard to define nature, though: Readers (and writers) can come in from lots of diff. traditions #UFchat
10:15 pm Jinxie_G: @UF_Chat It is hard to define. UF stems from horror though, just like para. rom. and all that crap. There are too many genres now! #UFChat
10:15 pm jflamingo2: Hi #UFchat I’m still learning about UF as a genre & what I like best. So far, it’s werewolves.
10:16 pm jsmithready: .@Jinxie_G As I’ve heard it, in dark fantasy (incl UF) good generally beats evil, but in horror, no guarantee. #UFChat
10:16 pm UF_Chat: @HC_Palmquist This is one of the weird things about UF – agents/editors look @ setting but people travel too.. #UFchat
10:16 pm MarieIvarsson: I don’t know when I discovered UF. I wasn’t aware of it as a genre until quite recently, but I loved Highlander and Buffy. #UFChat
10:16 pm Ben_Aaronovitch: Then there’s Diana Wynn Jones Seven Days of Luke, Archer’s Goon #UFchat
10:16 pm jsmithready: @Sayuri_x Have you read the sequel, BLACK HOUSE? I haven’t yet but heard it’s good. #UFchat
10:16 pm UF_Chat: @Jinxie_G Yes – has more roots in horror than fantasy in many ways. The splitting off of genres/types is getting confusing 4 all! #UFchat
10:16 pm AuthorWilliam: @UF_Chat Saw the movie trailers and thought it looked freakin’ cool. Saw it and thought – nice, ancient mixed with modern. I dig. πŸ™‚ #UFchat
10:17 pm wildbloom: @AuthorWilliam Have to agree about the movies. If that’s not UF, I couldn’t say what is. #ufchat
10:17 pm UF_Chat: UF has many flavors in its ?genre soup? ? what do you see as typical of UF? What ?strains? of UF have you found? #UFchat
10:17 pm tadbo: @AuthorWilliam Take a look at White Wolf’s World of Darkness. Pen and paper rpg that pretty much defines American UF. #ufchat
10:17 pm editorialdept: example: Highlander isn’t particularly horror-oriented. More, it’s fantastical situations and beings in modern-day world. #ufchat
10:17 pm Sayuri_x: @jsmithready Ohh, I haven’t read a Stephen King/Peter Stauss since I was a teen. But I might go back for that. #UFchat
10:17 pm UF_Chat: RT @jsmithready: .@Jinxie_G As Ive heard it, in dark fantasy (incl UF) good generally beats evil, but in horror, no guarantee. #UFchat
10:18 pm amandabonilla: @AuthorWilliam I LOVE ancient mixed with modern. Writing UF gives you the opportunity to do that #ufchat
10:18 pm HC_Palmquist: @UF_Chat You know, I think I finally classified it as Paranormal Romance, although there is no sex. #UFchat
10:18 pm UF_Chat: @editorialdept I’ve always considered it more fantasy than UF but there’s a definite straddling there when it gets to modern day. #UFchat
10:18 pm AuthorWilliam: There so much to fantasy. Would you say that are more subgenre thoroughbreds in the Fantasy genre or more subgenre hybrids? #UFchat
10:19 pm wildbloom: I haven’t read enough UF books to really define anything. Gotta be honest. Very familiar with WW, though. #ufchat
10:19 pm amandabonilla: @HC_Palmquist I don’t know if sex is required, as long as there’s strong romantic elements #ufchat
10:19 pm UF_Chat: @HC_Palmquist Awesome! (We have to have that UF/PR chat soon!) So relationship is the important thing to resolve in ur story then? #UFchat
10:20 pm wulfshado: @wildbloom #UFchat What’s WW?
10:20 pm CameronHaleyUF: UF doesn’t even have to *have* a relationship, IMO. #UFchat
10:20 pm UF_Chat: @AuthorWilliam Personally think hybrids abound – everything from horror comedy mix to romance adventure. #UFchat
10:20 pm jsmithready: @tadbo Ah, good to know. I’m about halfway through the Dark Tower series (& all the linked books). #ufchat
10:20 pm AuthorWilliam: I’m right w/ u! RT @amandabonilla @AuthorWilliam I LOVE ancient mixed with modern. Writing UF gives you the opportunity to do that #ufchat
10:20 pm wildbloom: @wulfshado White wolf. #ufchat
10:20 pm editorialdept: I have a hangup re: Fantasy. I tend to think of it as only swords&sorcery & medieval setting. Most anything modern-day is UF to me. #ufchat
10:20 pm Jinxie_G: @CameronHaleyUF I agree with that. I don’t think it does either. #UFChat
10:21 pm wildbloom: @AuthorWilliam I’d have to say hybrids. #ufchat
10:21 pm HC_Palmquist: @UF_Chat Yes, several relationships in fact, although not all have romantic elements. #UFchat
10:21 pm UF_Chat: @CameronHaleyUF Yes – no relationship required but often added as complication. Lone Western archetype but with a twist. #UFchat
10:21 pm MarieIvarsson: And of course I read Diana Wynne Jones etc, but when is YA UF? I’ve always read those kind of books, just not aware of the genre. #UFChat
10:21 pm tadbo: @jsmithready …you do realise that every book SK has ever written is linked to The Dark Tower, right? πŸ˜„ #ufchat
10:21 pm UF_Chat: @editorialdept I think people are now calling that “traditional fantasy” (or “trad fantasy”). LOL #UFchat
10:22 pm CameronHaleyUF: And speaking of WW and RPGs…Shadowrun in 1989. #UFchat
10:22 pm wulfshado: @jsmithready #UFchat The Gunslinger series is great. Just finished last one myself a few months ago. love how real world/writer world mix
10:22 pm AuthorWilliam: @wildbloom @UF_Chat I would agree. For the writer UF seems to represent a piece of freedom to break down barriers of time and create #UFchat
10:22 pm rixshep: RT @editorialdept: I’d think UF is more aligned with fantasy than horror. I consider it urban tales with magical elements. Doesn’t have to be horrific #ufchat
10:22 pm Jinxie_G: @tadbo @jsmithready That’s right! They are! #UFChat
10:22 pm UF_Chat: @HC_Palmquist Ignore the box – write what the story is – it’ll get defined/marketed later I’m sure. Gets distracting! #UFchat
10:23 pm wildbloom: @AuthorWilliam Agreed. That pretty much defines my next novel. #ufchat
10:23 pm editorialdept: RT @CameronHaleyUF: And speaking of WW and RPGs…Shadowrun in 1989. <<I was a HUGE ShadowRun fan. Still have all my sourcebooks πŸ™‚ #ufchat
10:23 pm UF_Chat: @rixshep Hi! Thought you couldn’t make it! Happy to see you. πŸ™‚ #UFchat
10:23 pm amandabonilla: RT @editorialdept: I’d think UF is more aligned with fantasy than horror. I consider it urban tales with magical elements. Doesn’t have to be horrific #ufchat
10:23 pm HC_Palmquist: @UF_Chat I see typical UF as a city setting in which the MC has to deal with the paranormal or fantastical. #ufchat
10:23 pm Ben_Aaronovitch: @MarieIvarsson I think YA was UF when I was reading it before they’d invented the term YA (or UF) it was all Children’s #UFChat
10:24 pm jsmithready: @wulfshado Me, too. I am really mad that I know how the series ends, but can only blame myself for not reading faster. 😦 #UFchat
10:24 pm ItaliaTrent: RT @amandabonilla: I think the best part of UF is taking these traditionally “Scary” creatures and putting a new spin on them #ufchat
10:24 pm PizaSeven: RT @UF_Chat: @HC_Palmquist Ignore the box – write what the story is – it’ll get defined/marketed later I’m sure. Gets distracting! #UFchat
10:24 pm UF_Chat: So shall we talk about the typical ingredients in UF? (as we see it, as marketers see it?) #UFchat
10:24 pm tadbo: Yup, had them in mind too. Cyberpunk/Urban fantasy? RT @CameronHaleyUF: And speaking of WW and RPGs…Shadowrun in 1989. #UFchat
10:25 pm HillaryJacques: UF leans toward where the story and author pull, which makes it hard to define but allows for wonderful creativity. #UFChat
10:25 pm HC_Palmquist: @UF_Chat Exactly!!! It’s interesting because one of my YA’s is very much UF. #ufchat
10:25 pm UF_Chat: @ItaliaTrent @amandabonilla There’s a contest happening right now with that very challenge. I’ll get the link. #UFchat
10:26 pm AuthorWilliam: This is an interesting subject; How sword and sorcery has taken the face of the greater fantasy genre. Good thing? #ufchat
10:26 pm HillaryJacques: @tadbo I tend to see cyberpunk as sci fi. #UFchat
10:26 pm Jinxie_G: RT @UF_Chat: UF writers announcement: Sheep & Wolves contest http://bit.ly/bx23QL Write traditional monster from new perspective. #UFChat
10:26 pm HC_Palmquist: @amandabonilla Good point! #UFchat
10:26 pm UF_Chat: Wanted to mention: New UF release this week: @JSmithReady?s Bring on the Night (WVMP 3) http://amzn.to/bo6ZuN Her vamps are xlnt. #UFchat
10:27 pm amandabonilla: @AuthorWilliam I never say no to swordplay! πŸ˜‰ #ufchat
10:27 pm CameronHaleyUF: @HillaryJacques @tadbo was commenting that Shadowrun was UF/cyberpunk. It was basically D&D in a cyberpunk near future. πŸ˜‰ #UFchat
10:27 pm miranda00writes: I view typical UF as wherewolves, shifters, vampires or fae in contemporary settings. #UFchat
10:27 pm tadbo: @Kalayna Yeah. Fantastic elements and modern settings seems to be the base on which UF is built. #ufchat
10:27 pm Jinxie_G: @wildbloom Me too. #UFChat
10:27 pm UF_Chat: RT @amandabonilla: @AuthorWilliam I never say no to swordplay! πŸ˜‰ #UFchat
10:28 pm AuthorWilliam: RT @wildbloom: For me, what makes up UF for the most part are fantasy creatures in a modern-ish setting. Magic, vampires, etc etc. #ufchat
10:28 pm amandabonilla: @miranda00writes There’s room for so much more than the traditional characters too! That’s the beauty of UF #ufchat
10:28 pm UF_Chat: @tadbo @Kalayna We had a good discussion on UF definitions last week talking about that. (transcript on #UFchat blog site) #UFchat
10:28 pm wildbloom: @jsmithready I expect we’ll see another explosion of ‘labels’ in the next few years. It seems to have already started. #ufchat
10:29 pm Ben_Aaronovitch: I’m interested in the intersection between the fantastic and the mundane and the way they both interact with history and myth. #UFchat
10:29 pm AuthorWilliam: @wildbloom I feel the same way. #ufchat
10:29 pm UF_Chat: @jsmithready Re contemp fantasy – think because phrase often linked to DeLint & similar. Very confusing really. #UFchat
10:29 pm HC_Palmquist: @jsmithready I’ve been hearing AMAZING things about Bring on the Night from @Jinxie_G. #ufchat
10:29 pm amandabonilla: @Ben_Aaronovitch I use a lot of traditional mythology. And some I just make up! I like the esoteric side of UF. Keep it hidden #ufchat
10:30 pm UF_Chat: @jsmithready You’re welcome – besides it = awesome. Even people sick of vamps will like your books! That’s a big thing. #UFchat
10:30 pm miranda00writes: @jsmithready Agreed, but “urban” does sound a bit cooler. πŸ™‚ #UFchat
10:30 pm wildbloom: @AuthorWilliam I realized this when I thought about DrΓ©’s sequel. Dragon in 2010. UF? Fantasy only? It’s mind boggling. #ufchat
10:30 pm txvoodoo: @jsmithready I really want someone to do SUBURBAN fantasy & not as a humor novel! #UFchat
10:30 pm UF_Chat: @amandabonilla Hidden vs open – will chat on that soon too! (I prefer hidden too but will read either. πŸ™‚ #UFchat
10:31 pm editorialdept: I think UF is expanding as a genre/subgenre. Authors are bringing in broader cultural experiences, myths, and locations #ufchat
10:31 pm amandabonilla: @UF_Chat There’s always room for a good vamp story. That aspect of UF will never die #ufchat
10:31 pm Ben_Aaronovitch: @amandabonilla And never let the audience know which is which. #ufchat
10:31 pm KaSonndraLeigh: @kalayna I do hope you are right as dark fantasy is my specialty. Crossing her fingers as she types.#ufchat
10:31 pm amandabonilla: @UF_Chat YAY! Can’t wait for that chat! #ufchat
10:31 pm jimnduncan: #ufchat I’m late. what are we discussing?
10:31 pm UF_Chat: miranda00writes @jsmithready I think ‘urban’ also implies edgy – just like actual “urban fiction” is – lots of ‘street’ in UrbanFic #UFchat
10:32 pm jsmithready: @miranda00writes Not in rural areas. Local bookseller calls it all paranormal romance bc her customers think “urban” = “ghetto”. 😦 #UFchat
10:32 pm omewan: been reading Jim Butcher’s series Dresden Files..well listening to James Marsters read them #UFchat
10:32 pm UF_Chat: @KaSonndraLeigh There’s always a place for dark fantasy – UF allows for whatever mix of darkness you like. πŸ™‚ #UFchat
10:32 pm CameronHaleyUF: Question: Does the way you *got into* UF affect the kind of UF stories you prefer today? #UFchat
10:32 pm rixshep: RT @Ben_Aaronovitch: I’m interested in the intersection between the fantastic and the mundane and the way they both interact with history and myth. #UFchat
10:32 pm tadbo: @Kalayna Or towards Contemporary Fantasy. That sounds neat and could be a catch all. They like catch-all’s. #ufchat
10:32 pm amandabonilla: @UF_Chat Definitely gritty! #ufchat
10:32 pm AuthorWilliam: @wildbloom I think of it with Dark Province. It’s High Fantasy in that it creates an alternate world but with UF influences.#ufchat
10:33 pm wildbloom: @jimnduncan Welcome, Jim! Discussing subgenres of urban fantasy (and other things). #ufchat
10:33 pm miranda00writes: @amandabonilla I agree! I love the breadth that UF has to offer #UFchat
10:33 pm AuthorWilliam: RT @editorialdept: I think UF is expanding as a genre/subgenre. Authors are bringing in broader cultural experiences, myths, and locations #ufchat
10:33 pm Ben_Aaronovitch: Contemporary Fantasy is probably a better label but it seems a bit bloodless as Significant Other is to Lover #UFchat
10:33 pm UF_Chat: @jsmithready Oh my – that’s gotta be confusing for everyone (calls it all PR). #UFchat
10:33 pm UF_Chat: RT @miranda00writes: @amandabonilla I agree! I love the breadth that UF has to offer #UFchat
10:33 pm amandabonilla: @CameronHaleyUF Not at all! The UF I write is unlike anything I read. That’s the beauty of the genre. There’s room to play #ufchat
10:34 pm UF_Chat: @AuthorWilliam Expanding yes – into soft-sci-fi too (alternate futures etc) #UFchat
10:34 pm wildbloom: @AuthorWilliam I read the first page of Dark Province. Very intriguing. And I can see that about the story, certainly. #ufchat
10:34 pm UF_Chat: Im interested in the intersection between the fantastic and the mundane and the way they both interact with history and myth. #UFchat
10:34 pm jsmithready: @UF_Chat Maybe avg reader doesn’t worry abt labels, just wants to know, does it have vampires? (or whatever they like). #UFchat
10:34 pm UF_Chat: Previous was an RT from RT @Ben_Aaronovitch: (ran out of letters sorry) #UFchat
10:34 pm wildbloom: @editorialdept So far, I haven’t thought of UF has only having happy endings. Interesting! #ufchat
10:35 pm Kalayna: @UF_Chat @jsmithready (re all PR) I imagine that is especially confusing for the UF that contains very little romance in it #ufchat
10:35 pm jsmithready: Yes! RT @amandabonilla: @CameronHaleyUF The UF I write is unlike anything I read. That’s the beauty of the genre. Room to play #ufchat
10:35 pm UF_Chat: @jimnduncan Ingredients in UF (horror through sword & sorcery etc)- how people found the genre (books, TV shows, authors etc) #UFchat
10:35 pm Jinxie_G: @jsmithready Exactly my thinking. lol #UFChat
10:36 pm editorialdept: @wildbloom *heh* That was a slightly more black & white definition than I was aiming for. Darn 140-character limit! #ufchat
10:36 pm inkgypsy: @wildbloom UF doesn’t require happy endings. PR does though – HAE. #UFchat
10:36 pm inkgypsy: RT @jsmithready: Yes! RT @amandabonilla: @CameronHaleyUF The UF I write is unlike anything I read. That’s the beauty of the genre. Room to play #ufchat
10:36 pm Ben_Aaronovitch: My British publ. took several attempts to get a cover she felt matched the themes #UFchat
10:36 pm wildbloom: @editorialdept LOL! I think I get what you mean though. #ufchat
10:37 pm AuthorWilliam: UF is being defined, in part, as a modern-set fantasy instead of medieval…What about themes? Does UF also mean more modern themes? #Ufchat
10:37 pm inkgypsy: @editorialdept I think there’s a diff in dark UF too – mainly due to influx/overlap of PR though. #UFchat
10:37 pm CameronHaleyUF: @editorialdept Horror/dark fantasy: hero struggles to survive the monster; UF: hero kicks the monster’s ass in the end. πŸ˜‰ #UFchat
10:38 pm inkgypsy: Interesting thought. RT @Ben_Aaronovitch: Contemp Fant probab better label but seems bit bloodless as Significant Other is to Lover #UFchat
10:38 pm editorialdept: I guess I’d say Dark Urban Fantasy tends more towards horror and rough themes (violence, more graphic sex) than straight UF #ufchat
10:38 pm shadowflame1974: I think now we can bring in things from other cultures with ease. Esp. since we have such a mixed culture and more acceptance. #UFchat
10:38 pm jsmithready: @UF_Chat Good pt! intersection betw fantastic/mundane is at the ❀ of UF. Why I love reading it more than straight fantasy or sf. #UFchat
10:38 pm amandabonilla: @AuthorWilliam Not necessarily. You can still have kings, knights and warriors… just in a modern setting and perhaps more esoteric #ufchat
10:38 pm UF_Chat: @wildbloom Gosh – I switched modes & ended up as ‘me’ – oops. LOL #UFchat
10:38 pm editorialdept: Yes! Thank you RT @CameronHaleyUF: dark fantasy: hero struggles to survive monster; UF: hero kicks the monsters ass in the end. πŸ˜‰ #ufchat
10:39 pm wildbloom: @UF_Chat …LOL #ufchat
10:39 pm inkgypsy: RT @CameronHaleyUF: @editorialdept Horror/dark fantasy: hero struggles to survive the monster; UF: hero kicks the monster’s ass in the end. πŸ˜‰ #UFchat
10:39 pm UF_Chat: @CameronHaleyUF I like that diff explained there. Shows the horror roots in dark UF too. #UFchat
10:39 pm HC_Palmquist: RT @CameronHaleyUF: @editorialdept Horror/dark fantasy: hero struggles to survive the monster; UF: hero kicks the monster’s ass in the end. πŸ˜‰ #UFchat
10:39 pm mindofbryan: @amandabonilla Isn’t that kind of like Neverwhere? #UFCHAT
10:40 pm rixshep: RT @inkgypsy: Interesting thought. RT @Ben_Aaronovitch: Contemp Fant probab better label but seems bit bloodless as Significant Other is to Lover #UFchat
10:40 pm UF_Chat: Neverwhere is what turned a lot of people on to UF actually. Although not much takes place in actual London. @mindofbryan #UFchat
10:41 pm wildbloom: @editorialdept Possibly so. It somewhat fits my upcoming book and I’d been wondering what genre to put it in. Dark vs. UF #ufchat
10:41 pm SurrealSways: @inkgypsy …’contemporary fantasy’ is just that?fantasy in a contemporary setting. Not equatable, in my opinion. #UFchat
10:41 pm UF_Chat: @editorialdept Have noticed Joan of Arc types seeping into UF a lot recently. #UFchat
10:42 pm UF_Chat: @SurrealSways think they’re related but still different. Thus the DeLint separate-ness tho considered father of UF by many. #UFchat
10:42 pm Ben_Aaronovitch: @UF_Chat Joan of Ark types? #UFchat
10:42 pm CameronHaleyUF: @jsmithready Now, I have to pimp, because you just described MOB RULES! πŸ™‚ http://bit.ly/aG2FEb #UFchat
10:43 pm amandabonilla: @jsmithready I think it’s easier to live in that “gray” area in UF. Your “good-guy” doesn’t have to be squeaky clean #ufchat
10:43 pm wildbloom: @editorialdept I’m self publishing it, so I’m the one who has to click the little boxes. πŸ˜€ #ufchat
10:43 pm UF_Chat: @wildbloom Think you look at what the stakes are – what needs to be resolved for story to be complete to place it in right ‘genre’. #UFchat
10:43 pm editorialdept: @wildbloom ah! so much the merrier, then πŸ™‚ #ufchat
10:43 pm AuthorWilliam: @surrealsways You’re saying that contemp fant is focused on setting only where UF speaks more to…theme? characters? #ufchat
10:44 pm wildbloom: @wulfshado I know. My screen is flipping by like a Vegas slot machine. #ufchat
10:44 pm UF_Chat: Reminder: @StaciaKane?s 3rd Downside book released: City of Ghosts. Blurb & excerpt here: http://bit.ly/9unRaV Rec read this mnth! #UFchat
10:45 pm wildbloom: @UF_Chat I’ll probably have to get some advice when the time comes. I’m poor at deciding all that. Breaks my brain. #ufchat
10:46 pm editorialdept: Just to stir the pot-is it still UF if it’s in an urban setting, but not modern? What if you write fairies/werefolk in ancient Rome? #ufchat
10:46 pm UF_Chat: Although haven’t kept up with everybody – haven’t seen a mention of NOIR which is important to UF. #UFchat
10:46 pm UF_Chat: @amandabonilla You mean nicely flawed? πŸ˜‰ #UFchat
10:46 pm CameronHaleyUF: @editorialdept Historical fantasy. #UFchat
10:46 pm Jinxie_G: @UF_Chat Noir? That’d be @Shawn_II. #UFChat
10:47 pm editorialdept: Yes! That’s what I was trying to put my finger on. RT @UF_Chat: havent seen a mention of NOIR which is important to UF. #ufchat
10:47 pm UF_Chat: @editorialdept I’ve heard the term historical UF – a lot actually! #UFchat
10:47 pm wulfshado: @UF_Chat #UFchat What’s Noir?
10:47 pm wildbloom: @editorialdept To me, that’s historical fantasy. #ufchat
10:47 pm MarieIvarsson: @Ben_Aaronovitch Yes, that’s the interesting thing. Because genres are really made up labels of books, I’ve rarely been aware before #UFChat
10:47 pm amandabonilla: @UF_Chat Yes! Nicely flawed! πŸ˜‰ #ufchat
10:47 pm jsmithready: @CameronHaleyUF Kewl! Congrats on the starred review!! #UFchat
10:48 pm AuthorWilliam: RT @wildbloom @editorialdept To me, that’s historical fantasy. #ufchat <<Innnnteresting!
10:48 pm UF_Chat: Noir has the gritty, mystery, no guaranteed outcome, urban factor too. UF could *almost* be described as Contemp Fantasy Noir. #UFchat
10:48 pm CameronHaleyUF: @jsmithready *hugs* Thank you so much πŸ™‚ #UFchat
10:48 pm wildbloom: So there’s dark urban fantasy, urban fantasy, noir fantasy, contemporary fantasy…. #ufchat
10:48 pm UF_Chat: I say almost because it doesn’t cover the entire range – love that range! #UFchat
10:48 pm UF_Chat: RT @jsmithready: @CameronHaleyUF Kewl! Congrats on the starred review!! #UFchat
10:49 pm editorialdept: @wulfshado this is the definiton of film noir, but concept is the same- http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Film_noir cynical, darker theme #ufchat
10:49 pm UF_Chat: @CameronHaleyUF When was the release? #UFchat
10:49 pm CameronHaleyUF: Noir is classic crime fiction with an emphasis on grittiness, cynicism, corruption — Chandler,Hammet etc. #UFchat
10:49 pm AuthorWilliam: @wildbloom high fantasy, swords and sorcery… #ufchat
10:49 pm CameronHaleyUF: @UF_Chat Release is Sept. 1! #UFchat
10:49 pm UF_Chat: @AuthorWilliam See I would make a case for diff between historical fantasy and historical UF… tricky, no? #UFchat
10:50 pm wildbloom: @AuthorWilliam LOL! #ufchat
10:50 pm Madison_Woods: Hi πŸ™‚ What’s the topic this evening? #ufchat
10:50 pm editorialdept: I think the reviewers and publicists are coming up w/ new genre terms faster than authors can keep up πŸ™‚ #ufchat
10:50 pm UF_Chat: @CameronHaleyUF Yes – which is why it needs to be brought up for UF – a lot of UF has those elements. #UFchat
10:50 pm wildbloom: @UF_Chat Make the case! I’m interested in hearing the differences. #ufchat
10:51 pm CameronHaleyUF: @UF_Chat Okay, historical, urban, paranormal, dark fantasy πŸ™‚ #UFchat
10:51 pm UF_Chat: @Madison_Woods Hi! How did you discover UF & now what are the ingredients in typical UF as you &/or publishers see them. #UFchat
10:51 pm Ben_Aaronovitch: #UFchat Bed time this side of the pond – look forward to transcript.
10:51 pm CameronHaleyUF: Totally agree! RT @UF_Chat: @CameronHaleyUF Yes – which is why it needs to be brought up for UF – a lot of UF has those elements. #UFchat
10:51 pm UF_Chat: @CameronHaleyUF LOL! Gotta love it’s morphing ability! #UFchat
10:51 pm wulfshado: #UFchat I remember when I first started reading this stuff, they called the genre gothic then later horror. I.E. Marilyn Ross
10:52 pm AuthorWilliam: @UF_Chat Being a Virgo, I would be right with you on that. Love me some spreadsheets. Just, the more we do, the more we affect… #ufchat
10:52 pm UF_Chat: @wildbloom Hm – I gotta get my stuff into order to do that – maybe a chat topic? Or we can discuss after? #UFchat
10:53 pm wulfshado: @editorialdept #UFchat Thanks.
10:53 pm wildbloom: @UF_Chat Absolutely! #ufchat
10:53 pm AuthorWilliam: @UF_Chat ..the ratio of a subgenre purebred and the hybrid population. Purebreds become harder to find. Which is fine. #ufchat
10:53 pm miranda00writes: Crap. My cell phone battery is at critical stage – bye! #UFchat
10:53 pm UF_Chat: @wulfshado I remember that too! Gothic is more apt than horror these days overall but believe it or not now seeing ‘gothic UF’ O.o #UFchat
10:53 pm snowppl: #ufchat I think I discovered UF in a TV more as well. It does seem to be a touch darker than trad fantasy.
10:53 pm Madison_Woods: @UF_Chat someone once compared my style to Patricia Briggs, found out it was UF researching her. I don’t think my WIP is UF, though. #ufchat
10:53 pm jsmithready: @inarascott I can’t wait for Delacroix Academy! *ahem* Can you remind me (and tell everyone) its release date? #ufchat
10:54 pm inarascott: RT @amandabonilla: @jsmithready I think it’s easier to live in that “gray” area in UF. Your “good-guy” doesn’t have to be squeaky clean #ufchat
10:54 pm UF_Chat: @AuthorWilliam He he – spreadsheet away my friend. It’s all fascinating to me. Love the diversity UF has. #UFchat
10:54 pm wulfshado: @UF_Chat #UFchat okay, now THAT hurt my brain.
10:54 pm UF_Chat: @snowppl Agreed – more noir. (Oh – there’s that word again! πŸ˜‰ #UFchat
10:55 pm amandabonilla: @Madison_Woods LOVE Patricia Briggs. Definitely an UF writer, though she got her start writing straight fantasy #ufchat
10:55 pm CameronHaleyUF: Re: UF as Noir, UF author John Levitt @ Genreville blog http://bit.ly/b6ETzR #UFchat
10:55 pm UF_Chat: @rixshep I think it’s the uncertainty that does that – again why it fits UF overall (not PR tho, which requires HAE). #UFchat
10:55 pm marirandomities: Hi there! Popping in w/ same Q. (how are you? πŸ™‚ RT @Madison_Woods: Hi πŸ™‚ Whats the topic this evening? #ufchat
10:56 pm UF_Chat: @amandabonilla Yes! Love her work. Both fantasy and UF. #UFchat
10:56 pm UF_Chat: RT @CameronHaleyUF: Re: UF as Noir, UF author John Levitt @ Genreville blog http://bit.ly/b6ETzR #UFchat
10:56 pm amandabonilla: @wildbloom It’s all a guessing game! πŸ˜‰ My agent gave me the choice: market as UF or PR #ufchat
10:56 pm snowppl: @AuthorWilliam that’s because people like to classify when writing is hard to classify! #ufchat πŸ™‚
10:56 pm marirandomities: @UF_Chat @Madison_Woods Hmm, just found out the reply. Ignore me, please, lol. #ufchat
10:56 pm amandabonilla: @Madison_Woods I highly recommend reading her if you plan to write UF. She’s GREAT #ufchat
10:56 pm AuthorWilliam: @UF_Chat I love it, too. I am, like many of us, the product of conflicting influences. My writing reflects it. #ufchat
10:57 pm wildbloom: @amandabonilla Which did you decide and what tipped your choice one way or the other? If I may ask. #ufchat
10:57 pm UF_Chat: @wulfshado I know, right? But I understand people trying to find their ‘fit’ – gets confusing. #UFchat
10:58 pm Jinxie_G: Must take off for shopping & manicure! Thanks to @jsmithready for joining in today! =) You should read her books. Have fun everyone! #UFChat
10:58 pm UF_Chat: @Madison_Woods Thanks! Got behind with spinning colored ball of death there for a second. πŸ˜€ #UFchat
10:58 pm amandabonilla: @wildbloom Also, the amount of action/fight scenes/sword play helped to shift my decision toward UF #ufchat
10:59 pm AuthorWilliam: @snowppl Most definitely. Dark Prov fuses so many genres. I wrote the story I needed to write. Hard 2 put the final product in a box #ufchat
10:59 pm UF_Chat: @rixshep Never seen noir – true noir – as soft myself. #UFchat
10:59 pm wildbloom: @amandabonilla Sounds pretty cool. It’ll come down to a last minute decision for me too, I’m sure. Leaning toward dark UF though. #ufchat
11:00 pm marirandomities: @Madison_Woods Thanks for being faster than me. πŸ˜‰ How are you? And how did you find about UF? I found on tweeter if you believe me #ufchat
11:00 pm amandabonilla: @wildbloom I like the dark stuff! πŸ˜‰ #ufchat
11:00 pm UF_Chat: @amandabonilla Think the active part of MC’s in UF is important. Hard to define active when MCs develop from victim to not tho. #UFchat
11:00 pm UF_Chat: @Jinxie_G Thanks for dropping by! #UFchat
11:01 pm amandabonilla: @UF_Chat So true. I think that’s part of it though… the eventual loss of control before regaining it #ufchat
11:01 pm RavenRequiem13: RT @jsmithready: #UFchat I prefer “contemporary fantasy” to “urban,” since a city is not required. But “contemporary fantasy” hasn’t caught on as a label.
11:01 pm Jinxie_G: @UF_Chat Your other account has a DM waiting. #UFchat
11:02 pm UF_Chat: Wow – 4pm already! That flew. I’m going to tweet new releases and links to articles/posts on these topics. Thanks to all joining in! #UFchat
11:03 pm amandabonilla: @jsmithready I agree! I don’t think UF NEEDS to have an urban setting to be considered UF #ufchat
11:03 pm CameronHaleyUF: @UF_Chat Thanks so much for hosting us again. Another great discussion! #UFchat
11:03 pm wildbloom: @UF_Chat Thank you for hosting! Been a fantastic hour. #ufchat
11:03 pm AuthorWilliam: @Jinxie_G Thanks for taking part πŸ™‚ #ufchat
11:03 pm UF_Chat: @Jinxie_G Merci lady! And thank you! I have a plan for next week too now. πŸ™‚ #UFchat
11:03 pm Madison_Woods: @amandabonilla oh no…then maybe mine IS UF. *holds head* It’s so hard to decide! #ufchat
11:03 pm amandabonilla: Thanks for the great chat everyone!!! Can’t wait to do it again. See you next week! #ufchat
11:04 pm AuthorWilliam: Bravo to @UF_Chat for facilitating another great discussion! #ufchat
11:04 pm UF_Chat: @wildbloom @CameronHaleyUF Thank YOU! You make it fun and good brain food. πŸ™‚ #UFchat
11:04 pm AuthorWilliam: Take care everyone! #Ufchat
11:04 pm UF_Chat: @CameronHaleyUF Plug your book again? About to tweet new releases here. πŸ™‚ #UFchat
11:04 pm Jinxie_G: @UF_Chat Awesome! I have weekends off now! #UFchat
11:04 pm UF_Chat: @AuthorWilliam Thanks for joining in! #UFchat
11:05 pm wildbloom: @UF_Chat πŸ™‚ #ufchat
11:05 pm amandabonilla: @UF_Chat Thanks for hosting! πŸ™‚ #ufchat
11:05 pm jsmithready: So glad I stumbled upon #UFchat tonight. Very interesting discussions! Thanks to @UF_Chat for facilitating/moderating/awesomeing.
11:05 pm Kalayna: Great chatting with everyone over at #UFchat see you next week!
11:05 pm UF_Chat: @amandabonilla Same bat-time and channel. (shape-shifting bat of course) πŸ˜€ #UFchat
11:06 pm UF_Chat: OK, some new UF releases this last week by authors here on Twitter about to be tweeted: #UFchat
11:06 pm amandabonilla: @UF_Chat Woohoo! See ya then! #ufchat
11:06 pm UF_Chat: Reminder: @StaciaKane?s 3rd Downside book released: City of Ghosts. Blurb & excerpt here: http://bit.ly/9unRaV Rec read this mnth! #UFchat
11:06 pm jimnduncan: Well, regardless of what it is exactly, I think UF needs its own section in the bookstore and not mixed in with the fantasy section #ufchat
11:07 pm marirandomities: @UF_Chat Seems I was too late for discussion… I hope I’ll make it in time next week. πŸ™‚ #ufchat
11:07 pm AuthorWilliam: @Jinxie_G You are most welcome! Good to meet you! #ufchat
11:07 pm UF_Chat: New UF release this week: @JSmithReady?s Bring on the Night (WVMP 3) http://amzn.to/bo6ZuN (even if sick of vamps you will love it) #UFchat
11:07 pm inkgypsy: RT @jimnduncan: Well, regardless of what it is exactly, I think UF needs its own section in the bookstore and not mixed in with the fantasy section #ufchat
11:07 pm rixshep: @UF_Chat Ok. What then wld b diff tween noir and horror? (I plead ignorance!) #ufchat
11:07 pm NLGervasio: RT @UF_Chat: New UF release this week: @JSmithReady?s Bring on the Night (WVMP 3) http://amzn.to/bo6ZuN (even if sick of vamps you will love it) #UFchat
11:07 pm Jinxie_G: RT @UF_Chat: New UF release this week: @JSmithReady?s Bring on the Night (WVMP 3) http://amzn.to/bo6ZuN (even if sick of vamps you will love it) #UFchat
11:07 pm UF_Chat: New UF release this week: @ChristophGolden & Tim Lebbon?s Chamber of Ten http://amzn.to/crnh1x #UFchat
11:08 pm UF_Chat: @rixshep Noir generally mystery solved as well as not all ends happily. Horror = survive the monster. Mystery not as important. #UFchat
11:09 pm marirandomities: Beg to disagree. UF is still fantasy after all. RT @inkgypsy: RT @jimnduncan: UF needs its own section in the bookstore #ufchat
11:09 pm UF_Chat: New UF release this week: @trentonomicon?s Death Most Definite http://amzn.to/d78DSf #UFchat
11:09 pm UF_Chat: New UF release this week: @marjoriemliu?s A Wild Light http://amzn.to/btVzrE #UFchat
11:09 pm graywave: e@jimnduncan sci-fi fans have been wanting their own section (back) for twenty years now, so good luck with that! #ufchat
11:10 pm UF_Chat: Recent UF anthology Dark & Stormy Knights http://amzn.to/9rPdZh #UFchat
11:10 pm UF_Chat: Some new UF resources and an outside contest this week for writers & readers in the next few tweets: #UFchat
11:10 pm marirandomities: And they have a better cause! heh RT @graywave: @jimnduncan sci-fi fans have been wanting their own section for twenty years now #ufchat
11:10 pm UF_Chat: . @Stacia Kane also posted deleted scenes from Unholy Magic (incl. ?why?) ? xlnt for writing study/fans. http://bit.ly/98IEop #UFchat
11:11 pm teamsheltie: RT @UF_Chat: New UF release this week: @JSmithReady?s Bring on the Night (WVMP 3) http://amzn.to/bo6ZuN (even if sick of vamps you will love it) #UFchat
11:11 pm UF_Chat: @shadowflame1974 You’re welcome! Hope to see you next week. πŸ™‚ #UFchat
11:11 pm UF_Chat: UF writers announcement: Sheep & Wolves contest http://bit.ly/bx23QL Write traditional monster from new perspective. #UFchat
11:11 pm marirandomities: RT @UF_Chat: New UF release this week: @JSmithReady?s Bring on the Night (WVMP 3) http://amzn.to/bo6ZuN #UFchat
11:11 pm marirandomities: RT @UF_Chat: New UF release this week: @ChristophGolden & Tim Lebbon?s Chamber of Ten http://amzn.to/crnh1x #UFchat
11:11 pm UF_Chat: UF writers often deal w edgy characters. Worried what that says about you? Read @StaciaKane?s xlnt essay http://bit.ly/bBa7Dd #UFchat
11:11 pm marirandomities: RT @UF_Chat: New UF release this week: @trentonomicon?s Death Most Definite http://amzn.to/d78DSf #UFchat
11:12 pm marirandomities: RT @UF_Chat: New UF release this week: @marjoriemliu?s A Wild Light http://amzn.to/btVzrE #UFchat
11:12 pm UF_Chat: Helpful #UFchat writers/community list put together by @TabithaRees http://bit.ly/ar6ptE Contact her to be added. ? #UFchat
11:12 pm marirandomities: RT @UF_Chat: Recent UF anthology Dark & Stormy Knights http://amzn.to/9rPdZh #UFchat
11:12 pm UF_Chat: Useful links re today?s topics being tweeted next! #UFchat
11:12 pm UF_Chat: Urban Fantasy as Genre (or, more than just vamps and sex) by @PaulJessup http://bit.ly/by9Vvj #UFchat
11:12 pm MireyahWolfe: RT @UF_Chat: Urban Fantasy as Genre (or, more than just vamps and sex) by @PaulJessup http://bit.ly/by9Vvj #UFchat
11:13 pm UF_Chat: Carrie (Vaughn)?s Analysis of Urban Fantasy Pt 1: The Formula << Filling the Well http://bit.ly/ajJIjQ (whole series is great) #UFchat
11:13 pm Jinxie_G: RT @UF_Chat: Urban Fantasy as Genre (or, more than just vamps and sex) by @PaulJessup http://bit.ly/by9Vvj #UFchat
11:13 pm UF_Chat: Notes on Urban Fantasy & Roots of Kickassitude (by Juno Editor Paula Guran) http://juno-books.com/blog/?p=410 #UFchat
11:13 pm MireyahWolfe: RT @UF_Chat: Carrie (Vaughn)?s Analysis of Urban Fantasy Pt 1: The Formula << Filling the Well http://bit.ly/ajJIjQ (whole series is great) #UFchat
11:14 pm MarieIvarsson: @jimnduncan Yes! One of the reasons I was so late in discovering UF was that it was mixed in both with Trad fantasy and Horror. #UFChat
11:14 pm MireyahWolfe: RT @UF_Chat: Notes on Urban Fantasy & Roots of Kickassitude (by Juno Editor Paula Guran) http://juno-books.com/blog/?p=410 #UFchat
11:15 pm GraylinFox: @editorialdept Horror/dark fantasy: hero struggles to survive the monster; UF: hero kicks the monster’s ass in the end. πŸ˜‰ #UFchat
11:17 pm UF_Chat: Transcript 4 today?s chat ‘Discovering UF & It’s Roots’ will be up within 24hrs (apocalypses excepted). Follow @UF_Chat 4 updates! #UFchat
11:18 pm LynetteBenton: RT @wildbloom: RT @UF_Chat: UF writers announcement: Sheep & Wolves contest http://bit.ly/bx23QL Write traditional monster from new perspective. #ufchat
11:19 pm marirandomities: RT @UF_Chat: Helpful #UFchat writers/community list put together by @TabithaRees http://bit.ly/ar6ptE Contact her to be added. ? #UFchat
11:19 pm UF_Chat: Thanks to all for joining in today. Great chat! UFChat host going dark… over and out. #UFchat
11:19 pm graywave: @marirandomities Lol. I didn’t actually SAY that πŸ™‚ #ufchat
11:26 pm inkgypsy: @surrealsways Missed your dystopian tweet – agree. Hence my adding noir into the mix. πŸ™‚ Contemp UF is far more general IMHO. #UFchat
11:28 pm marirandomities: @graywave Hehe, of course. That’s my own adding. πŸ˜‰ #ufchat
11:31 pm Jinxie_G: @CrystalPosey Do we have to want something to show ya love? Sheesh. @writermomof5 @HC_Palmquist Sorry, was in #UFchat for a bit.
11:33 pm inkgypsy: New article for #UFchat folks RT @CarolynCrane: The best and worst job prospects in the paranormal economy 2011! http://tiny.cc/lojs3
11:35 pm UF_Chat: RT @inkgypsy: New article for #UFchat folks RT @CarolynCrane: The best and worst job prospects in the paranormal economy 2011! http://tiny.cc/lojs3
11:36 pm writermomof5: @Jinxie_G Hey, I love UF… where were you chatting? #UFchat
11:37 pm teetate: RT @wildbloom: RT @UF_Chat: UF writers announcement: Sheep & Wolves contest http://bit.ly/bx23QL Write traditional monster from new perspective. #ufchat
11:38 pm Jinxie_G: RT @inkgypsy: New article for #UFchat folks RT @CarolynCrane: The best and worst job prospects in the paranormal economy 2011! http://tiny.cc/lojs3
11:39 pm Jinxie_G: @writermomof5 Using tweetchat.com and that hashtag, every Saturday at 3pm our time. =) #UFchat @inkgypsy runs it.
11:41 pm JordanDrew: Wedding was lovely, but the drive to and from was long. Glad to be home for awhile. Now time for coffee and to catch up on #UFchat
11:58 pm jflamingo2: Sorry, #UFchat I didn’t keep up well because I had too much going on all around me. Hopefully, next time I will follow better. Catching up:)
August 1, 2010
12:01 am writermomof5: @Jinxie_G Cool… can you remind me next week? LOL #UFchat
12:08 am LaylaMessner: Darn, mised #UFChat. Someone summarize it for me?? Pretty please πŸ™‚
12:21 am inkgypsy: @LaylaMessner How people discovered the genre & ingredients of UF as opoosed to just fantasy. #UFchat Transcript going up within 24hrs. πŸ™‚
12:21 am inkgypsy: @writermomof5 If you follow @UF_chat you’ll get reminders and countdowns the day before & on the day. πŸ™‚ #UFChat
12:26 am JulieeJohnsonn: missed it today, but for all you Urban Fantasy enthusiasts take note for next week! #UFchat takes place Sat’s at 3 PST! @UF_chat
12:30 am LaylaMessner: Quick ad to #UFChat. Really fell in love with UF through Patriacia Briggs’ Mercy Thompson Novels. Harry Potter bridged the gap from fantasy.
12:49 am turnfeel33: @jsmithready Just discovered from #ufchat πŸ™‚ Will I be lost if I start with Bring on the night?..its says #3…what’s #1?
1:09 am inkgypsy: @ShennandoahDiaz There’s discussion on that topic in both last week & this week’s #UFchat. πŸ™‚ Defining the diff.
3:33 am writermomof5: @inkgypsy Thanks for the tip! #UFChat
6:23 am inkgypsy: RT @UF_Chat: The transcript for today’s #UFchat is up! http://bit.ly/a6YbpM How People Discovered UF & What Its Roots Are πŸ™‚
9:00 am AnassaRh: Okay, responding to #UFchat comments and questions, with time delay to counteract the maintenance. Sorry for the spam, y’all.
9:00 am AnassaRh: @tabitharees And maybe because #UFchat is about UF? πŸ˜‰ That’s what’s hooked me on it.
9:01 am AnassaRh: @UF_Chat Can’t remember first UF I ever encountered, but Tanya Huff’s Blood series hooked me. Friend in uni was a fan + made me read #ufchat
9:03 am AnassaRh: Ingredients in UF: city, magic and/or magical being, mystery. Occasionally a quest. (Magical being= anything unexplained by science) #ufchat
9:05 am AnassaRh: Really, I make a distinction between UF and “contemp” fantasy. UF is mysteries, kickass women, vamps, etc. Contemp is mostly quests. #ufchat
9:06 am AnassaRh: Strains of UF: historical, noir, possibly science-infused (magic via technology), always mystery. #ufchat
9:07 am AnassaRh: Strains of contemp: comic, lyrical, historical, adventure. Quests are common thread. Gaiman, deLint, King, Golden’s Veil trilogy. #ufchat
9:08 am AnassaRh: ?And the same urban/contemp distinction just got made. Heh. #repeatingthings #ufchat
9:09 am AnassaRh: Agreed. RT @UF_Chat: I think ‘urban’ also implies edgy – just like actual “urban fiction” is – lots of ‘street’ in UrbanFic #UFchat
9:10 am AnassaRh: @CameronHaleyUF Does my 1st UF influence? Certainly. I prefer harder, focused mysteries. Not the only type of UF I read, though. #ufchat
9:11 am AnassaRh: @CameronHaleyUF If we’re talking “like to write”, tho? not really. Mystery in WIP isn’t real story. My bunnies cover a wide range. #ufchat
1:29 pm editorialdept: RT @inkgypsy: RT @UF_Chat: The transcript for today’s #UFchat is up! http://bit.ly/a6YbpM How People Discovered UF & What Its Roots Are πŸ™‚
2:13 pm SurrealSways: @AuthorWilliam I was half-asleep at the time I tweeted but yes. I think UF is used more as an insight into the corruption of society #UFchat
2:15 pm SurrealSways: @AuthorWilliam Where contemp broadly places fant in modern/recognisable context … #UFchat
2:15 pm SurrealSways: @AuthorWilliam I think UF focusses more on the darker side already inherent in society now. #UFchat
2:50 pm JordanDrew: RT @UF_Chat: The transcript for today’s #UFchat is up! http://bit.ly/a6YbpM How People Discovered UF & What Its Roots Are πŸ™‚
4:22 pm inkgypsy: @SurrealSways @AnassaRh Awesome input & comments guys! I’m going to add them to the transcript when I get a chance today. #UFchat
4:23 pm inkgypsy: Will be adding bunch of interesting/insightful late comments to #UFchat transcript later today. Want to add yours too? Just use hashtag. πŸ™‚
5:46 pm LaylaMessner: Yes! RT @amandabonilla: I think the best part of UF is taking these traditionally “Scary” creatures and putting a new spin on them #ufchat
5:47 pm LaylaMessner: I’m right w/ u! RT @amandabonilla @AuthorWilliam I LOVE ancient mixed with modern. Writing UF gives you the opportunity to do that #ufchat
5:53 pm LaylaMessner: RT amandabonilla: There’s always room for a good vamp story. That aspect of UF will never die #ufchat
5:55 pm LaylaMessner: RT Ben_Aaronovitch: Contemporary Fantasy is probably a better label but it seems a bit bloodless as Significant Other is to Lover #UFchat
5:57 pm LaylaMessner: RT amandabonilla: I think it’s easier to live in that “gray” area in UF. Your “good-guy” doesn’t have to be squeaky clean #ufchat
9:33 pm inkgypsy: More comments being added to #UFchat! Will be adding them to transcript later so tweet with hashtag if you want yours included today. πŸ™‚
10:39 pm inkgypsy: @Suzanne_Johnson Just read your Tor article on NO – xlnt. Going to have a discussion on importance of location in UF on #UFchat soon-ish.

6:01 am inkgypsy: A post about the new #UFchat http://bit.ly/cuA2RH (Warning: blog shape-shifting lots right now a.k.a. – getting a re-vamp – pun intended) πŸ˜€

___________________________________

END OF TRANSCRIPT FOR JULY 31, 2010

Make sure to look up the resources posted at the end – links, a contest and excellent essays for brain food… πŸ™‚

Expanding on last week and lots of room to keep on discussing. Don’t worry we’ll come back to this discussion again soon! Stay tuned to @UF_Chat on Twitter for next Saturday’s topic.

See you next week!

Gypsy (@inkgypsy)

Leave a Reply

